Skip to content

Citizens Bank of Clovis

Citizens Bank of Clovis

Banks & Banking AssociationsSafe Deposit *

About Us

Incorporated on January 7, 1916, with capital stock of $25,000, The Citizens Bank of Clovis has become the largest independent financial institution in East-Central New Mexico now with assets in excess of $499,000,000. With capital in excess of $59,000,000, it is one of the best capitalized banks in New Mexico.

On February 19, 1920, a group of investors led by S. J. (Sid) Boykin and A. W. Skarda organized Farmers State Bank of Clovis. Four years later, Farmers State Bank merged with The Citizens Bank, becoming The Citizens Bank of Clovis with S. A. Jones serving as president and A. W. Skarda serving as cashier. Skarda became president in 1940, serving in that position until 1967 when T. E. Willmon, Jr. became president. Kent Carruthers became president in 1986 and still serves in that capacity.

Since 1968 the bank has functioned with three directors currently being, J.T. Skarda, Jennifer Skarda McCann, and Kent Carruthers, our bank's president.

The bank has full service branches in Fort Sumner and Texico, New Mexico, two drive-up facilities in Clovis, and four ATM locations. We also have two loan production offices, one in Ruidoso, New Mexico, and the other in Moriarty, New Mexico. The bank has operated a trust department since 1956.